Miller Road crash

This SUV ended up on its side following a crash on Miller Road in front of Telly’s Restaurant, 3459 Miller Rd. The accident happened April 13 at about 5:48 p.m. Details were unavailable at press time.

Residents to vote on C-A sinking fund millage increase, May 7

Headlee Amendment override also to be on the ballot

FLINT TWP. — Officials in Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools want voters to see that a proposed 1-mill increase in the district’s sinking fund and a Headlee Amendment override will not only provide improved safety and security for students and staff, but it will also be an investment to homeowners. Carman-Ainsworth will ask voters May 7 to approve a 1-mill increase in […]

Township to build new parking lot entrance

FLINT TWP. — Flint Township will spend up to $47,000 to create a new entryway to the Administration Building parking lot at 4190 S. Dye Road. The current entryway does not meet code requirements and presents a safety concern for pedestrians, particularly the elderly, and vehicles, according to Township Supervisor Karyn Miller. The project will include pavement removal, a culvert, […]

Portable radar signs purchased by township

FLINT TWP. — The Flint Township Police Department will purchase two new portable radar signs at a cost of $6,530. Police Lt. James Baldwin told the Flint Township Board of Trustees the single radar trailer the department currently has is about 20 years old and in need of replacement. It has a short battery life and cannot store traffic data, […]

Board cancels May 6 meeting because of election

FLINT TWP. — The Flint Township Board of Trustees approved canceling its May 6 regular meeting in order to give the Clerk’s Department needed time to prepare for the May 7 school election. Clerk Kathy Funk said that, due to the passage of Proposal 3 last November, the Clerk’s Department has been undergoing many changes. “There have been a multitude […]

Carman-Ainsworth robotics team snags state finalist honor, qualifies for world championship

FLINT TWP. — Five matches. Two ties. Eight points. That sums of the scrappy, resilient run by the Megatron Oracles (Big MO) Team 314 during the FIRST® in Michigan State Championship at Saginaw Valley State University on Saturday. Big MO, which operates out of Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools, was the only Genesee County team in the finals, which saw two, three-team […]

In brief

Township to resume business licensing FLINT TWP.— The Flint Township Board of Trustees Monday approved the second reading of an ordinance to have the issuing of business licenses returned to the city’s Building Department from the Clerk’s Department. Along with that change, Building Department Administrator Stuart Worthing asked the board to purchase a business license software component that that would […]

Hurley Urgent Care opens

BURTON — Hurley Medical Center continues its mission of providing clinical excellence and essential service to people by making healthcare more convenient for people in and around Burton. Michigan Health Specialists (MHS) and Hurley Urgent Care of Burton, a primary care practice that cares for patients from newborns to seniors, hosted a grand opening celebration and ribboncutting ceremony last week, […]

Local students score in health-related essays

GRAND BLANC TWP. — Genesee Health Plan is a local non-profit launched in 2001, providing health care coverage to more than 90,000 county residents with doctor’s visits, cancer screenings, prescription drugs, x-rays and many other life-saving services. GHP recently honored community leaders and featured students who earned kudos and scholarships for writing about their family’s health. Following an invocation where […]

MCC President named Bulpitt Woman of the Year by AAWCC

FLINT — Dr. Beverly Walker- Griffea, President of Mott Community College, (MCC), received the Mildred Bulpitt Woman of the Year Award from the American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) April 14 at the organization’s annual awards breakfast. The Mildred Bulpitt Woman of the Year Award is given for outstanding leadership and mentorship to provide opportunities for women in […]