$1,000 Credit Union Scholarship Winners Announced

GRAND BLANC — The Dort Federal Credit Union Board of Directors has announced the recipients of the 2018-2019 $1,000 Student Scholarship award.

The Board of Directors received more than 50 applications this year as part of the annual program. Applications were accepted from Dort Federal members who are graduating from high school in 2019 and planning to attend college in the fall or are currently enrolled in a post-secondary school with full-time status.

New this year Dort Federal Credit Union increased the number of recipients from seven to ten students. The students were selected based on a variety of criteria including GPA, letters of recommendation, and volunteer work. Keeping with the credit union tradition, all applicants were asked to submit a brief essay describing what the credit union philosophy “Being Financially Responsible” means to them.

“We are pleased to honor the academic achievements of these students and show our support for continuing their education. We not only wish the 10, 2019 scholarship recipients’ great success, but all the applicants in pursuing their education and future careers,” said Harry Awdish, Chairman of the Board.

Dort Federal Credit Union has been serving the Greater Flint community for 68 years. With more than 91,000 members, Dort Federal Credit Union is open to anyone who lives, works, attends school, worships, or volunteers in Genesee, Lapeer, or Shiawassee Counties, or Deerfield and Tyrone Townships in Livingston County. Membership is also open to immediate family members of our current members.

Details: Visit dortnline.org or call 800-521-3796. — G.G.

$1,000 Credit Union Scholarship Winners

Tristan Lovasz – 2018 Genesee Early College – University of Michigan – Flint
Grant Foren – 2019 Grand Blanc High School- Wayne State University
Za’Taia Shelby – 2017 Beecher High School – University of Michigan – Flint
Bryson Nugent – 2018 Lake Fenton High School – University of Michigan – Flint
Kaylee Czycio – 2019 Flushing High School – Purdue University
Joseph Rechsteiner – 2019 Grand Blanc High School – Kettering University
Reese Ruhlman – 2019 North Branch High School – University of Detroit Mercy
Nicole Nelson – 2018 Hartland High School – Grand Valley State University
Caitlin Wiencek – 2019 Goodrich High School – Michigan State University
Jennifer Bloch – 2019 Davison High School – Michigan State University