2017 Greater Flint Area Sports Hall of Fame inductees selected

GRAND BLANC — The Greater Flint Area Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2017 inductees. The selected inductees will be honored at a banquet on December 2 at the Genesys Athletic Center. Three teams and seven individuals will be inducted and commissioner Bob Holec will receive the Distinguished Service Award.

Individual inductees include Ainsworth’s three-sport star athlete Mike Harding, Carman-Ainsworth baseball coach Larry Gall and Carman- Ainsworth’s three-sport athlete and NFL player Jon Runyan.

Also being welcomed in to the Greater Flint Area Sports Hall of Fame are Craig Tucker, who was a member of the 1978 Flint Northern championship basketball team and Flint Powers’ golfer Mike Austin, who was a two-time “Mr. Golf ” recipient. Flint Northern’s Dr. Frank Manley II, who played basketball and baseball from 1951-1954, and Flint Central’s Bob Crane are among those being honored as well.

The teams being inducted include the 1977 Goodrich boys golf team, which won the league, regional and Class C state championships. The 1983 Atherton volleyball team was also selected, having won the school’s first state championship. The third team being inducted is the 1980 Beecher girls’ basketball team, which captured the Class B state championship that year.

Commissioner Bob Holec is receiving the 2017 Distinguished Service Award for his work on behalf of the Greater Flint Area Baseball/Softball Association. Holec has been a part of the Commission since 2004, serving as president from 2004-2008 and will be retiring at the end of this year.

For more information on the inductees, please see our online version at www.mihomepaper.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *