Absentee ballots weigh heavily in township, school board results

GRAND BLANC TWP. — Residents in Grand Blanc Township will see almost an entirely new Board of Trustees.

Incumbent Supervisor Scott Bennett, a Republican, was unopposed in his bid to retain his seat. Bennett is the only sitting member of the board who will return for the upcoming term of office.

Republican David B. Robertson was unopposed in the race for the clerk’s office, having defeated incumbent Cathy Lane in the August primary.

Absentee ballots turned the tide in the race for treasurer where Republican Larry Anderson had a commanding lead over Democrat Mark W. Kilmer in election-day voting, but came up short with absentee voters. The final count saw Kilmer collecting 11,479 votes (including 8,781 absentee) to Anderson’s 10,603 (5432 absentee). Incumbent Earl Guzak did not seek re-election.

Similarly, absentee voters made a significant difference in the outcome of the contest for four trustee seats where eight candidates battled it out. Top vote-getters were Democrat Sarah Hugo, who garnered 12,498 votes (including 9,481 absentee), Republican Joel Feick with 11,023 votes (5,958 absentee), Democrat Paul J. White with 10,829 (8,427 absentee) and Democrat Jude Rariden with 10,823 (8,376 absentee).

They defeated Democrat Joe Massey, the only incumbent to advance past the primary, who received 10,687 votes, and Republicans Christopher Estes and Jay Johnson, both of whom earned 9,254 votes, as well as Republican Ryan Thompson, who received 9,138 votes.

Four candidates vied for two available spots on the Grand Blanc Community Schools Board of Education. One incumbent and one newcomer emerged victorious in the nonpartisan contest.

Incumbent James Avery Jr. will return to the board as the top vote-getter with 10,539, followed closely by newcomer Amy Facchinello with 10,067.

Avery and Facchinello bested incumbent Jay Hoffman, who received 8,756 votes, and challenger Joe Johnson, who was close on Hoffman’s heels with 8,751.

In Oakland County, the votes were Avery, four; Hoffman, three; Facchinello and Johnson, two each.

All numbers reflect vote totals reported on the Genesee County Clerk website as of press time.