Annual Sybyl Award nominees announced

GENESEE COUNTY — Fifteen people have been nominated for Resource Genesee’s annual Sybyl Award.

The award honors the life of Sybyl M. Atwood, who served for more than 40 years as the program director for Volunteer and Information Services at Resource Genesee and its predecessor organizations. Atwood died in 2007.

“This award was designed to annually acknowledge someone in the community who exemplifies Sybyl’s energy, outlook and dedication to helping others,” said Lindsey Younger Resource Genesee President & CEO.

Sybyl’s sense of community and boundless energy influenced and strengthened the human service sector of Genesee County for more than four decades. Mentoring was central to her work.

Now it’s up to the selection committee convened by Resource Genesee to decide which of the 15 nominees will receive this year’s Sybyl Award. The winner will receive the award at Resource Genesee’s Annual Holiday Luncheon, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., Dec. 5 at the Holy Redeemer Family Life Center, 1227 Bristol Rd. in Burton.

All nominees will be honored as well. Friends and family are welcome to attend. Tickets for the luncheon are $35 per person or $300 for a table of eight with sponsorship signage. They are available through Resource Genesee, 810-232-6126. ELGA Credit Union is the presenting sponsor for the Sybyl Award.

This year’s nominees include: Brian and Dorie Barkey, Flint Year Round Walk and Run Club; Kelly Beardslee, volunteer for Christ Enrichment Center; Bob and Barb Coe, Mercy Team Chairmen, Flushing Community Church of the Nazarene; April Cook, Director, Alternative Solutions for Women; Timothy Draeger, Wings of Mercy; Delores Johnson, Auxiliary President, The New McCree Theater; Dr. Nita Kulkarni, Physician and volunteer for New Life Center; Donald D. Lada, Manager Brown Funeral Home; Jon Manse, Director of Community Services Catholic Charities of Shiawassee and Genesee Counties; William Moeller, Board Member, McLaren Foundation; Lauretta Montini, volunteer Catholic Charities of Shiawassee and Genesee Counties; Don Paliani, owner, Sorento’s Food and Spirits; Julianne Princinsky, President, Baker College of Flint; Michael Shawl, founder, Boats for Vets; Woodrow Skaff, retired owner, Skaff Furniture and Carpet.

Previous Sybyl Award recipients include: Diana Kelly, Program Director of the Building Neighborhood Capacity Program; Gary Haggart, former president, Shelter of Flint; Kenyetta Dotson, WOW Community Outreach; Charles Tommasulo, Executive Director Family Service Agency of Mid-Michigan; and Ken Foyder, CASA volunteer for the Weiss Advocacy Center, Kim and Kelsay Mannor, volunteers for Hurley Medical Center and Patrick McNeal, Executive Director of My Brothers Keeper.

Details: Call 810-232-6253. — G.G.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *