BCAM announces 2018 boys’ basketball awards

Carman-Ainsworth’s J’Kavien Lewis.

Carman-Ainsworth’s J’Kavien Lewis.

AREAWIDE – Multiple area athletes were recognized for both their athletic and academic achievements over the last season in the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan (BCAM) 2018 season awards that were published recently.

Beginning with BCAM’s Best awards, which act as the BCAM’s All-State awards, Carman-Ainsworth’s Ja’Kavien Lewis was named to the Class A BCAM’s Best team while teammates Omari Duncan and Michael Fletcher, Davison’s Austin Roland, Flushing’s Cal Endicott, Lapeer’s Drew Knickerbocker and Swartz Creek’s Jalyn Price- Rose were all named to the Class A Honorable Mention team.

Tyson Davis of Goodrich was named to the Class B Honorable Mention squad while Capac’s Trevor Boers was named to the Class C Honorable Mention team and Dryden’s John DelCampo was named to the Class D Honorable Mention team.

Both DelCampo and Capac’s Andrew Sams were named to the Individual Academic All-State teams for the 2018 season. To qualify, players needed to be nominated by their coach, be either a junior or senior, have at least a 3.5 GPA and be listed on one of the All-State teams by either the Associated Press, Detroit News, Detroit Free Press or BCAM. DelCampo boasted a 3.89 GPA for the season while Sams had a 3.5.

As a team, Almont, Capac, Davison, Imlay City and North Branch all earned Team Academic All-State honors. Almont finished as the second-best team in the state in Class B with a 3.725 overall GPA. Honorable Mention selections included Davison in Class A with a 3.305, North Branch and Imlay City in Class B with a 3.503 and 3.391, respectively, and Capac in Class C with a 3.0. Teams needed at least a 3.0 GPA to be listed.

North Branch’s Riley Bugg finished tied for sixth in the Top Individual 3-Point Field Goal Shooter award, making 24 of his 51 shots from downtown to finish just over 47% from deep for the season.

The BCAM also named its Team First award winners, which were given to one player or member per varsity team who is chosen by their coach. The BCAM notes, “this player should be the team member that exemplifies putting team before self, teamwork, commitment, service and sacrifice.”

Winners of this award included Jordan Bourdeau of Almont, Jacob Witt of Capac, Brendan Sullivan of Davison, John DelCampo of Dryden, Hayden Fernald of Goodrich, Quintin Zinger of Imlay City, Dylan Friday of North Branch and Hunter Curtis of Swartz Creek.

The Outstanding Senior Athlete award was given out as well to seniors that played all four years of high school basketball and have a cumulative GPA of 3.8. Capac’s Witt, Dryden’s DelCampo, Drew Fleming of Davison and Benjamin Locey of Goodrich all received the award.

Coaches were also recognized during the 2018 BCAM awards, with Carman- Ainsworth’s Jay Witham being named the Regional Coach of the Year for Region 11. Regional Coaches of the Year are determined each season by BCAM member voting.

For full lists of each award, visit www.bcam.org/content/2018-bcam-awards-published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *