Board approves 2016 JAG agreement

FLINT TWP. — After a brief public hearing, the township board approved an Interlocal Agreement for the 2016 Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) awarded to Genesee County by the United States Justice Bureau.

The federal funding is allocated to local governments to improve criminal justice services. It can be used to purchase equipment, vehicles and other law enforcement needs.

Genesee County’s 2016 allocation is $218,602 to be divided among five eligible municipalities – the townships of Flint and Mt. Morris, the cities of Burton and Flint and Genesee County, all of which will sign the Interlocal Agreement.

Flint Township’s share this year is $32,151, which includes an additional administrative fee to act as the fiduciary for the JAG funds. Flint Township handles the grant application and all required reporting and also sets up and maintain an interest bearing trust account from which funds will be expended to each municipality as authorized.

The allocations are based on crime statistics, said Lt. James Baldwin, who serves as the grant administrator.

The City of Flint will net the most money — $155,606, after agreed expenses, while Burton will net $9,715 and Mt. Morris Township will get $10,200.

Genesee County gets $10,930, which comes from a five percent allocation paid by each of the other four recipients from their portion. Genesee County gets a share for handling prosecutions, lodging offenders in the jail and such, Baldwin said.

The board approved Baldwin as an authorized signer of JAG documents. Baldwin is the local contact person for the U.S. Justice Department. Township Supervisor Karyn Miller will continue to be the authorized signer for the grant application and the Interlocal Agreement.

Mayor Karen Weaver is the signer for Flint, Mayor Paula Zelenko signs for Burton, Supervisor Larry Green signs for Mt. Morris Township and County Commission Chairperson Jamie Curtis signs for the county.

Each municipality agrees to use its portion of 2016 allotted funds by September 30, 2019, according to the agreement.

Trustee Frank Kasle asked why the number of eligible communities is getting smaller. Baldwin said the allocation is based on a crime statistics formula. If an allocation to a municipality falls below $10,000 (the minimum), they are no longer eligible to receive funding.

The total award also is down this year from $224,247 in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *