Board spars over appointments

FLINT TWP. — Appointments to the township’s planning commission and zoning board of appeals brought out some sharp differences at the township board meeting Monday night.

Only three of four names recommended by Supervisor Karyn Miller won approval.

At the outset, Trustee Frank Kasle asked each candidates be voted on individually.

John Gazall was unanimously reappointed without kerfuffle to a term ending August 2015.

Randy Kilbreath was nominated to replace Dick Ruhala, but instead Clerk Kim Courts made a motion to appoint Warren Marks to the term expiring August 2015. The motion won approval 5-2 with trustees Barb Vert and Belenda Parker voting no.

A motion to appoint Linda Patrick to replace Don Rowley, for a term ending August 2014, was also defeated in a 4-3 vote. Treasurer Marsha Binelli, Clerk Kim Courts and trustees Kasle and George Menoutes cast the no votes.

Miller was unhappy with the outcome.

“It is clear there has been a set up,’’ she said. “I don’t think it was right.”

Menoutes asked what she was talking about but received no reply.

Vert said over the past four years a great deal of effort has been put into getting new people appointed to township positions.

“We have files of people who want to sit on commissions. It is a shame we are not giving new people and opportunity,’’ she said.

Courts told Marks, who was in the audience, she supported him because he is dedicated and regularly attends township meetings.

“The other two people (nominated) I don’t know who they are,’’ she said.

Menoutes asked if the board had a resume for Patrick.

Miller said yes, it has been in her office for more than a year and that the Clerk and some trustees had seen it but no one else had asked to.

Courts said she had seen it but still does not know who Patrick is.

Moving on to the zoning board appointments, the rift continued. Menoutes asked why Kasle was not nominated as the board representative on the zoning board and made the motion to add his name.

This time, Miller asked that each nominee be approved individually.

Miller’s recommendation to reappoint Roger Powell to a term ending September 2015 was approved 5-2, with Vert and Parker voting no.

Similarly, Ed White was reappointed in a 5-2 vote with Vert and Parker voting no. HIs term expires in August 2014.

Miller joined Vert and Parker in opposing the reappointment of Kasle to the zoning board but the majority ruled in the 4-3 vote.

But the board agreed unanimously on the list of people to serve on the parks and recreation committee for the next four years. They are Miller, Vert, Jim McClung, George Mehrens (chairman), Jackie Perina, Charles Hughes and Peter Mikelens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *