Bruin Classic celebrates area high school senior All-Stars

Swartz Creek’s Olivia Hughes was selected to compete in the annual Bruin Class All- Star softball game. Photo by Todd Boone

Swartz Creek’s Olivia Hughes was selected to compete in the annual Bruin Class All- Star softball game. Photo by Todd Boone

FLINT – The Mott Community College Bruin Club kicks off its annual high school end-of-year showcases next week, marking more than 20 years. Volleyball, boys’ and girls’ basketball, softball and baseball are the main events.

The baseball game took the diamond at 5:30 p.m. Monday, softball at 5:30 p.m. yesterday and volleyball, girls’ basketball and boys’ basketball will play Friday, June 28 at 3:30 p.m., 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. respectively, this year at the Flint Powers Catholic gym due to ongoing renovations at the Mott gymnasium and lobby.

Mott softball coach Rod Studaker confirmed on Friday the players invited to, and confirmed to be playing, in Wednesday’s softball game. For the Black team, players include: Rachel Morales, Atherton; Malfait Spencer, Bendle; Madison Wheeler, Capac; Erica Barta, Chesaning; Skylar Walser, Chesaning; Lena Stillson, Cros-Lex; Ann Minton, Davison; Mady Cox, Sydney Hill and Kylee Yon, Goodrich; Gillian Cohoon, Holly, Brianna Opalewski and Leah Ridenour, Lapeer; Rose Allman, Owosso, McKenna Friedt and Sophie Kreiman, Flint Powers; and Isabelle Littleton of LakeVille. Coaches are Gordon Jamison from Linden, Ron Poyer from Chesaning and Jo Ellen Smith from Owosso.

For the Gold squad, players committed to play include: Greta L’esperenace, Jenna Orlando and Katie Tennyson, Byron; Rayanne Leach, Kloe Shann, Hannah Thurston, Carman-Ainsworth; Brooklyn Rushton, Clio; Jacee Sword, Kearsley; Alli Lavallier, Haley Whittecar, Lake Fenton; Hannah Rabideau, Millington; Joely Angst, Charleigh Birchmeier, Emma Muron, New Lothrop; Jordyn Roberts, Reese; Olivia Hughes and Madison Majestic, Swartz Creek. Coaches are Anne Boillant of Byron, Chris Kern of Clio and Amos Rinks of Lake Fenton.

Mott coach Shawn Brown was also able to confirm the baseball rosters Friday. They include on the Black team: Zach Mazza, Powers; Luke Wheeler, Owosso; Carson Allessie, Carter Merinsky and Brendan Bouchard, Swartz Creek; Ezra Giraurd, Bentley; Joe Beauchamp, Trevor Maidrana and Brayden Grossi, Powers; Grayson Makranyi, Flushing; Max Slezak, Ty Metzger and Matt Strobl Davison; Drew Kranz, Grand Blanc; Grant Masterson and Drew Johnston, Lapeer; Cam Steeves and Brock Henson, Fenton; Ian Bruce, Mt. Morris, Sean Asbury, Bentley. Coaches are John Fitzko, Swartz Creek, Tom Dutkowski, Powers and Todd Schultz, Bentley.

Gold team members include: Colby Phipps, Josh Bellanger, Nate Harville, Goodrich; Hunter Schram, Cody Schram, Cam Macneil, Brad LaRowe, Lake Fenton; Teddy Benner, Stuart Wiskur, Dylan Holland, Clio; Collin Harris, Lakeville; Travis Klocek, Linden, Garrett Vangilder, Aaron Lockitski, Trey Ridgeway, Holly; John Miller, Linden; Nathaniel Lane, Kollin Lineau, New Lothrop; Ethan Hollister, Corunna; Sayer Robinson, Durand; Cameron Tupper, Montrose. Coaches are Bob Foreback, Goodrich and Drew Johnson, LakeVille.

The remaining rosters were not finalized in time for our press deadline.