C-A announces scholarships, honors

GRADS HONORED — Carman- Ainsworth High School seniors are shown filing into the Honors Convocation in the high school auditorium Tuesday night

GRADS HONORED — Carman- Ainsworth High School seniors are shown filing into the Honors Convocation in the high school auditorium Tuesday night

FLINT TWP. — More than $3 million in scholarships including several full-rides were announced at the Carman-Ainsworth High School Honors Program Tuesday night as 150 outstanding seniors from a graduating class of 345 took their bows.

In his welcoming remarks, high school principal Rory Mattar pegged the scholarship tally at $3,307,696.

He said he had every confidence the students have been well-prepared to meet the challenges in life head-on. He also congratulated the parents and everyone else who played a role in guiding the students to this milestone.

Students received recognition for achievements including academics, leadership, athleticism, perfect attendance and more.

Superintendent Bill Haley presented the first-ever ACT Excellence Award to 19 students who scored in the Top 10 nationally on the academic test. Haley also presided over presentations of gold honor cords to 27 students who have earned GPAs of 3.80 or higher.

Class sponsors Kathleen Waters and Kevin Foltz presented honor cords to 39 students with GPA’s between 3.50 and 3.79 and to 68 students with g.p.a.s of 3.0 to 3.49.

Deborah Davis, assistant principal, acknowledged the 16 students who are candidates for the CA Academic Hall of Fame. The winners will be notified when all supportive criteria is competed later this summer.

Other presentations during the two and a half hour program included the National Honor Society Awards, Student Council Leadership/Scholarship Awards, Student Council Exemplary Service Award, Community Based Learning Students of the Year, The Urban League of Flint Scholarship Award, the Red Cross Award, Genesee Valley Rotary Student of the Year, Flint Community Players Scholarship, U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award, U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award and the U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award.

Other school-based honors included the Calliope Advisor Award for students involved with a school publication; the Linda Lee Reynolds Art Scholarship; Director’s Cup, Honor Thespian and Theater Recognition for students involved in the drama program; the Vocal Music Award, Instrumental Music awards, African-American Student Association and the CA Support Staff Scholarship.

Other notable awards included those to Kaylee VanFleet and Tony Wells-Johnson Jr. recognized for never missing a day of school from ninth through twelfth grade. They were among 14 students recognized for one or more years of perfect attendance in high school.

The Tall Pine Council recognized three seniors for attaining the rank of Eagle Scout. They are Timothy Arnold, Kyle McGilvery and Brandon Skwirsk.

Among numerous honors, Erick Skaff, who has served as a student member of the CA Board of Education, received the Board of Education Student Award the Genesee County Association School Board Members Award and the D.A.R. Good Citizenship Award.

New scholarships this year included the Jack Short Memorial Scholarship in honor of a long-time CA booster and the Ray Long Memorial Scholarship named for a former teacher at Dye Elementary.

In one emotional tribute, Jennie Johnson Pollak presented the Joe Johnson Scholarship in memory of her brother, a CA graduate who was killed last June while serving in Afghanistan. She said the award presented to Kamron Marsh was for exemplifying her brother’s motto to live life to the fullest.

Also Mr. and Mrs. Gary Somers presented the Steven S. Somers Scholarship in memory of their son, a CA student athlete who was struck and killed by a car in 1985 while out jogging.

Athletic director Robert Root announced the names of 33 outstanding athletes being added to the CA Athletic Wall of Fame. Representatives from Baker College of Flint, Kettering University, Mott Community College and the University of Michigan-Flint announced scholarships ranging from $2,000 to full-rides.

Announcing some 58 college scholarship award winners counselor Susan Carter acknowledged Oschiyonna Hill who landed nine scholarship offers from schools including Michigan State University, Central Michigan University and Eastern Michigan University but she plans to accept the Board of Governors Scholarship at Wayne State University where she will major in pharmacy, Carter said.

Aris Campbell racked up six scholarship offers but plans to accept the Board of Trustees Honors Scholarship at CMU where she will major in elementary education and theater, Carter said.

Mariam Salman received a full-ride scholarship offer from Yale University but plans to turn it down to attend the University of Michigan – one of two other scholarship offer she received.

Sarah Zimmerman, a top honors graduate, landed four college scholarships including one she will accept at MSU where she plans to major in theater.

Chadwick Coleman II pulled a full-ride athletic scholarship to Georgetown University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *