C-A Board honors student achievers


FLINT TWP. — The Carman- Ainsworth Board of Education rolled out the red carpet for several awards and honors presentations at its regular meeting Tuesday night.

First up, the board presented certificates to winners of the district’s fourth and fifth grade spelling bee held recently at Woodland Elementary School.

Fifth-grade winners are Kira Smith, first place, Jada Morris, second place and Nicole Woodard, alternate. Fourth-grade winners are Alana Milow, first place, DeEsmond Lewis, second place and Jenna McIntire, alternate.

Fifth-grade winners will go on to compete at the county spelling bee at the GISD Friday and fourth grade winners will compete next Wednesday morning.

The championship bees for 9-12 graders and 5-8 graders are scheduled for Wednesday afternoon. The overall winner of the 5-8 grade bee goes on to compete at the National Spelling Bee in Washington D.C.

The board also lauded six C-A students who were among 36 countywide nominees in the Outstanding Youth category for the Priority Children Children’s Champion Awards. More than 800 people attended the 16th annual event last month at the Riverfront Residence Hall in downtown Flint, said CAHS principal Rory Mattar who introduced the students to the board.

They are Megan Cousins, Toni Jarnigin, Ladiedre McKinney, Christopher McKay, Erick Skaff and Brandon Smith.

The nominations are based on service to school and community, Mattar said. Cumulatively the nominees have a 3.5 g.p.a., are enrolled in several advanced placement courses and have seldom if ever been sent to the principal’s office.

“I think we have tremendous kids at our high school,” Mattar said. “We have six here but 66 could have been nominated.’’

In the final round of bows, the board got a pat on the back for recent awards from the Michigan Association of School Board. Superintendent Bill Haley announced that the board received the Standard of Excellence Award and the Honor Board Award. Also, board member Ann Saunders received Level One certification recognition.

In his remarks, Board president Don Conway said it was the 11th consecutive year the board had received the Honor Board Award, an acheivement reached by very few school boards in the state. It is given and renewed when all members of a board achieve and maintain certification status.

“There are many dysfunctional school boards in our community,’’ Conway said. “We are not one of them. It’s something to be proud of’.’’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *