C-A board sets school organization plans

FLINT TWP. — Karla Bell, a junior, has been chosen by the Carman- Ainsworth Board of Education to serve as its Student Representative for a two-year term that began July 1 and ends June 30, 2018. Two students – a junior and a senior, are selected to serve as non-voting members of the Board. Their selection is coordinated by the high school principal and Student Council.

Bell’s selection was part of the board’s biannual organization meeting last week. The other one will take place in January, after the general election in November.

Other aspects of the organizational meeting include establishing the official name of the school district (unchanged from Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools) and designating depositories for the General Fund, School Service Fund, Building and Site, School Activities, Debt Retirement, Cafeteria Accounts, and Payroll. Those are PNC Bank, JP Morgan Chase and MBIA Asset Management Group. The board also selects persons to act as signatories for those accounts, as follows: General Fund/School Service Fund: Secretary, Treasurer Building & Site: President, Secretary, Treasurer Debt Retirement Fund: Treasurer Capital Projects Fund: Treasurer Flexible Spending Accounts: Treasurer The Payroll Fund is within the General Fund and requires the signature of the Treasurer only. The Student Activity Fund requires the signature of the senior high or junior high school principal, assistant principal, or secretary/bookkeeper. It also was recommended that district’s annual financial statement be published in its Courier newsletter, with The Flint Journal named as an alternate should the Courier be discontinued. The time and place of the Regular Meetings of the Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools Board of Education will continue being held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., in the Conference Room of the Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools Administration Building, unless otherwise specified. The schedule of meetings will be published on the website and in the Courier. Designated district attorneys are the legal firms of Thrun, P.C.; Collins & Blaha, P.C.; Hanba & Lazar, P.C.; Secrest Wardle, Counselors at Law; Dean & Fulkerson; and Lusk & Albertson, PLC.

The firm of Taylor & Morgan, P.C., Flint, will continue to serve as C.P.A. for the district’s annual audit.

Superintendent Eddie Kindle (or designee) will be the Student Discipline Hearing Officer. Sue Allen, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, is the designated Recording Secretary to the Board of Education — responsible for posting notices of board meetings, as authorized by the Superintendent.

Other organizational business included adoption of Michigan High School Athletic Association, Inc. Membership Resolution for the Year August 1, 2016 through July 31, 2017 and approval of Saginaw Valley League Conference Resolution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *