C-A Board swears in new members, elects officers

FLINT TWP. — Four recently elected members of the Carman-Ainsworth Board of Education took the Oath of Office last week during the annual Organizational meeting.

Gloria Nealy and Laura Garrison were sworn in to four-year terms on the seven member board that began January 1 and will end December 31, 2018.

Joy Crane and James Johnson were sworn in to six-year terms ending December 31, 2020.

The board also chose officers for 2015 and elected to keep it the same.

Gloria Nealy was reelected board president for a one-year term that began January 6 and will end on the date of the Organizational Meeting in January 2016.

Patrice Hatcher will again serve as board vice president for a one-year term.

Crane will serve as secretary and Ann Saunders as treasurer. Other trustees include Lonney Jarnigin, who was elected in November to fill a two-year term, and was sworn in at the December meeting.

The board meets at 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month. Unless otherwise posted, meetings are held in the Conference Room of the Carman-Ainsworth Administration Building, G-3475 W. Court Street.

The Organizational meeting also included a review of the board’s meeting calendar and of board committee designations.

Crane was appointed to serve as the liaison to the Carman-Ainsworth Education Foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *