C-A school board candidates filed

FLINT TWP. — No new faces are expected to join the Carman-Ainsworth Board of Education after the November 6 election. The filing deadline for school board candidates to file their affidavit of identity was last week- July 24. Four current members of the C-A board met that deadline, according to the Genesee County Clerk’s elections division. They are Gloria Nealy and Gary Cousins, both seeking re-election to six-year terms, and Keri Crane and Crystal Dahl, both seeking election to partial terms ending Dec. 31, 2020 and Dec. 31, 2022, respectively. Crane and Dahl were appointed to the board in February, beating out three other applicants to fill vacancies created by the resignations of of longtime board members Patrice Hatcher and Joy Crane, who had most recently served as the board president and vice president, respectively. Both Dahl and Keri Crane must run to retain their seats in the November general election. Both also are Carman- Ainsworth High School graduates – Dahl in 2010 and Crane in 2012. Nealy, the longest serving board member and also a past president, is seeking her fifth term. Cousins joined the board in June 2016, filling vacancy and ran successfully in the November 2016 election to retain his seat. He is completing a partial term that expires Dec. 31, 2018. School elections are held in November of even numbered years. The C-A board is made up or seven members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *