Carman-Ainsworth students earn scholarships

FLINT TWP. — Jessica Bruce and Nick Rhoto of the Carman-Ainsworth High School Robotics Team No. 314 have each won a Kettering University FIRST Robotics Scholarship valued at $22,500.

FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1989 to inspire young people’s interest and participation in science and technology.

Kudos also go to Marie Klosowski and Rahel Medhanie for receiving a FIRST Achievement Award at Kettering University. This scholarship is valued at $12,000.

Additionally, Stephen Moore received a $1,000 scholarship to Eastern Michigan University for his participation on a FIRST Robotics Team.

Annually, FIRST provides nearly $15 million in scholarships at over 500 different institutions. Any high-school junior or senior participating in the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) or FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) is eligible to apply for one or more FIRST Scholarships.

Bruce and Rhoto were among 16 students chosen to receive Kettering Scholarships which are awarded in installments of $5000 per year over four and half years. Winners had to be seniors who are active FIRST FRC team members. They had to submit letters of recommendation and a one-page essay summarizing leadership ability and the influence of FIRST on their life.

In partnership with FIRST, Kettering has awarded more than two million in FIRST scholarships since 1999.

“We seek the future innovator, leader, scientist, doctor and CEO,’’ Kettering’s application specified.

A total of 146 colleges, universities, corporations, and associations support the FIRST mission by donating meritbased scholarships to eligible students who want to take their FIRST experience to the next level, according to a FIRST press release about 2011 scholarship winners. Last year, nearly one in three applicants was offered a FIRST Scholarship, and 25 percent of the recipients were female. — Rhonda Sanders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *