Cavs win final Big Nine meet

FLINT — Considering that Carman- Ainsworth has a relationship with the Big Nine that dates all the way back to 1972 via the school’s former status as Flint- Ainsworth, the final league varsity boys’ swim and dive meet last Thursday at Flint Kearsley hosted by Davison was one the Cavaliers will remember for quite some time. That’s because Carman- Ainsworth/Flushing was able to dominate the meet with a score of 478, placing Flint Powers second with 332 and Davison third at 234.

Next year all four members of the Big Nine will join the Saginaw Valley Conference.

Leading the charge for the Cavs was Evan Snyder’s first place showing in the 200 free in 2:00.79 and Jake Ziaya was second in 2:01.53, in the 50 free, Mike Johns was the winner in 23.37 and Kevin Borse was third in 24.83 and finishing third and fifth in the 200 IM was Blake McDonald and Tyler Pangerl in 2:23.69 and 2:31.36, respectively.

As for the 100 fly, it was Johns who grabbed the top spot for Carman- Ainsworth/Flushing in 56.62 and Anthony Summers was third in 1:00.86, Snyder was the runner up in the 500 free in 5:38.40 and Ziaya was third in 5:39.91 and Brian Mendoza won the diving competition with a score of 291.10 and Chris Michaels was fourth with 253.35 points.

In the 100 free for the Cavs it was Patrick Sharp who slid into the second spot at 50.51 followed by Austin Bower in third with a time of 56.35, placing third in the 100 backstroke in 1:03.56 was Blake McDonald and Pangerl was fifth in 1:08.09. In the 100 breaststroke Sharp was number two by clocking in at 1:07.87 and Kent Crawley came in sixth in 1:18.57.

Having monopolized many of the top individual spots on the day, Carman- Ainsworth was also able to excel in the relay races, where Sharp, Bower, Borse and Johns were victorious in the 200 free relay in 1:36.75. The Cavs won the 400 free relay, as well, thanks to Ziaya, Borse, Erick VanDuyne and Snyder completing the event with a mark of 3:46.84.

When the Cavs take the pool at Macomb-L’Anse Creuse North regional No. 2-1 on Tuesday, they will be competing against a 29-team field that includes area squads such as Flint Kearsley/Clio, Grand Blanc, Lapeer East/Lapeer West, Clarkston and Lake Orion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *