County board selects chairman and vice chair for 2021



GENESEE COUNTY — During its organizational meeting held on Jan. 6, the Genesee County Board of Commissioners selected Commissioner Mark Young to lead the board as Chairman for 2021.

Young, who was elected to the 5th District as County Commissioner in 2012, previously served as the Genesee County Board Chairman in 2017 and 2018 when the county experienced its greatest capital improvement project growth in several decades. He has also previously served as chairman for the Finance Committee.

Currently, Young serves on the Flint & Genesee Regional Chamber of Commerce Operations Board and on the Board of Directors of the Valley Area Agency on Aging (VAAA). Young is a lifelong resident of Genesee County and graduated from Baker College. He is also a retired Genesee County Deputy Sheriff, a former paramedic and a veteran of the United States Army/Michigan National Guard.

Upon being selected as Chairman, Young announced the leadership team for the following committees:

Finance Committee – Commissioner Gary Peppin (Chairman).

Governmental Operations Committee – Commissioner Bryant W. Nolden (Chairman).

Human Services Committee – Commissioner Charles H. Winfrey (Chairman).

Public Works Committee – Commissioner Domonique Clemons (Chairman).

Community and Economic Development Committee – Commissioner Debra Newman (Chairman).

Commissioner Domonique Clemons was also elected as the Vice-Chairman of the board for 2021. Clemons, who represents the 4th District, was elected to his first term during the Nov. 3 election.

Clemons attended Flint Southwestern High School and holds a Public Policy degree from Michigan State University, as well as a Master’s in Political Management from The George Washington University. He serves as Director of Diversity and Staff Development for the Democratic Caucus of the Michigan House of Representatives and as treasurer for the Genesee County Democratic Party.

Clemons also serves as treasurer of the Young Democrats of Genesee County and Executive Director of the Genesee County Leadership Corps. — B.G.