County seats and judgeships decided in primary

Some candidates moving on the November election


GENESEE COUNTY – Voters decided Tuesday among candidates for several seats in Genesee County government, with the winners of those matchups going on to the Nov. 3 general election.

In the race for Genesee County Sheriff, Chris Swanson was the winner of the Democratic primary, taking a massive 38,623 votes. Flint Police Chief Phil Hart received 8,464 votes, while former Flint Police Chief Timothy Johnson 12,881.

Swanson, who was appointed to the position earlier this year after former Sheriff Robert Pickell retired, is a Democrat from Fenton, is running to be elected to the 4-year seat.

He will face Republican challenger Stephen Sanford of Linden in the Nov. 3 general election.

For Genesee County Prosecuting Attorney, incumbent David Leyton defeated challenger Trachelle Young, 39,298-20,340 votes.

In the Clerk-Register of Deeds election, Clerk John Gleason (D-Flushing) will retain his seat after beating Renee Watson, 34,284-24,531. Gleason will go on to face Republican challenger Jesse Couch in the November election.

For Drain Commissioner, voters decided to retain Jeffrey Wright (D-Burton) by a vote of 35,858 to 12,981 votes for challenger Travis Wines.

Several Genesee County Board of Commissioners seats were also decided, with winners moving on from the primary to the general election in November.

District 4 – Flint Township and parts of the City of Flint and Mundy Township

Democrats Domonique Clemons and Don Wright received 3,296-2,820 votes respectively. Clemons, who has no Republican challenger in November, will fill a two-year term for the District 4 seat currently held by former Flint Township Clerk Kim Courts.

Courts, who was elected to the Genesee County Board of Commissioners in 2016, is not seeking reelection to the county board in 2020.

District 8 – Gaines Township, Clayton Township, Swartz Creek, Mount Morris Township, Flint Township and the villages of Gaines and Lennon

In the race for the 8th District county commission seat, incumbent Ted Henry lost to challenger Debra Newman in the Democratic primary. Newman received 4,255 votes, to Henry’s 3,602. She will face Republican Rod Shumaker in the November general election.

District 9 – Davison, Davison Township, Richfield Township, Forest Township, Genesee Township, Otisville

Gary Peppin, a former Davison City Councilman, defeated Ann Edwards by a vote of 3,174-3,041 for the Democratic spot on the November ballot. He will go on to face Republican Matthew Smith, also from Davison, for the 9th District County Commission seat being vacated by David Martin, who is running as a Republican for State Representative in the 48th District.

Smith was unopposed in the primary.

Voters in Genesee County also had to pick from candidates to fill two judge positions – 7th District Circuit Court and 67-5A District Court.

Chris Christenson was the top vote-getter in the 7th District Circuit Court race. He received 27,495 votes, while Stephanie Witucki earned 20,033 votes and Herman Marable Jr. received 20,067 votes.

For the 67th District Court seat, Tabitha Marsh received 5,705 votes, while opponents Torchio Feaster, 2,873 votes, Heather Burnash, 2,599, and Glenn Cotton, 1,151 trailed behind.