Dort Financial Credit Union announces 2019-20 Student Scholarship winners

GRAND BLANC — The Dort Financial Credit Union Board of Directors has selected the recipients of the 2019-2020 $1000 Student Scholarship Award.

The recipients were: Abigail Arnes, Avery Boogren, Jackson Bush, Cruz-Malik Duhart, Krystal Gatesm Angel Mangham, Madeline Raspberry, Kaylee Sheppard, Jacob Winter and Allison Wurtz.

These 10 students were selected based on a variety of criteria. All applicants were asked to submit transcripts, letters of recommendation, and a brief essay describing what “Being Financially Responsible” means to them.

“We take a great amount of pride in helping these outstanding young people pursue their dreams. We are privileged to play a role in funding these students’ efforts towards scholastic advancement, at the same time, lessening the burden on families’ finances” said Harry Awdish, Chairman of the Board. — G.G.