Five applied for openings on C-A school board

FLINT TWP. – Five people applied for two openings on the Carman- Ainsworth Board of Education.

The board held a special meeting on Jan. 23 to interview the prospective candidates. They are: Erin Yezbick, Alex Clark, Crystal Dahl, Keri Crane and Lakisha Bah-Stewart. No details about the candidates’ backgrounds is available at press time.

Superintendent Eddie Kindle said the board will be appointing two people to fill the vacant seats until December 31. They must run on their own in the November general election to retain their seat.

The appointments will be made as soon as the Board makes a decision, Kindle said. He anticipated that the chosen candidates will be sworn in at the Feb. 6 school board meeting.

The vacancies were created by the resignations of longtime board members Patrice Hatcher and Joy Crane, who most recently served as the board president and vice president, respectively.

The current seated C-A board officers and members are James Johnson, president;

Gary Cousins, vice president; Lisa Koegel, secretary; Lonney Jarnigin, treasurer and Gloria Nealy, trustee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *