Five MCC faculty receive NISOD Excellence Award

FLINT — Five Mott Community College (MCC) faculty members were honored with the 2020 National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Award, in recognition of the high standards for teaching and dedication they bring to student learning and success.

The MCC honorees for the NISOD Excellence Award are:

Jeff Brandes, of Davison, Coordinator/ Assistant Professor, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration;

Robert Dudock, of Flint, Professor, Biology;

Michael Fisackerly, of Flint, Instructor, Information Technology;

Dr. Ron Stamper, of Wolverine Lake, Associate Professor, Chemistry; and

Dr. Charles Wade, of Flint, Professor, Biology.

“Our NISOD award winners represent MCC’s standard of excellence and commitment to student success, to great teaching, and to sharing their skills and knowledge with their peers,” said Jason Wilson Vice President for Student Academic Success. “We applaud their hard work and dedication on behalf of the College. This is an honor that is richly deserved.”

The NISOD Excellence Awards were established in 1991 to recognize individuals doing extraordinary work on their campuses. Using their own criteria, NISOD member colleges submit the names of faculty members each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We’re honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements.”

NISOD is a membership organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges. — G.G.