Flint Troopers recognized for outstanding patrol

FLINT TWP. — Four Michigan State Police (MSP) troopers from the Flint Post on Corunna Road are recipients of the Cpl. Samuel A. Mapes Criminal Patrol and Investigation Award, according to an MSP press release. The four troopers were among those recognized at a ceremony in Lansing on Jan. 11.

The award is named in honor of Corporal Mapes, an early pioneer in criminal patrol and investigation, who was killed in the line of duty during the prohibition era. The annual award honors the top five percent of troopers in each district for looking “past the traffic stop” to excel in proactive criminal patrol and criminal investigations closed by felony arrests.

The 2017 Col. Sam Mapes Award recipients are:

Trooper Andrew Faucette

Trooper Casey Taylor

Trooper Dan Richter

Trooper Derek Hoffman

Each award recipient receives a special service ribbon to wear on their uniform. It includes seven blue stars in honor of Corporal Mapes, who was the seventh MSP trooper to die in the line of duty.

In addition, top award recipients have the first opportunity to drive special edition black and gold patrol cars, which were recently added to the MSP patrol fleet in honor of the department’s 100th Anniversary. Fifty fully equipped 2016 Dodge Chargers are painted to resemble MSP’s iconic 1937 Ford Model 74 patrol car.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *