Flushing voters to choose trustee, school board candidates on Nov. 3

FLUSHING TWP. — Flushing area voters will be tasked with selecting candidates for the Flushing Township Board of Trustees and the Flushing Board of Education at the Nov. 3 general election.

In the Flushing Township Trustee race, five candidates will be contending for four positions on the township board. Incumbent Flushing Township trustees Jenifer Almassy (D), William Westenbarger (R), Sharilynn Willette (R) and Linda Minarik (R) are running for reelection, while challenger Bill Bain (R) is seeking a first term on the township board.

Flushing Township Supervisor Fred Thorsby (R), Flushing Township Clerk Wendy Meinburg (R) and Flushing Township Treasurer Terry Peck (R) are all running unopposed on Nov. 3.

Voters will also decide between five candidates to fill three seats on the Flushing Board of Education. Incumbents Salvatore Ausiello, Eddie Dolgan and Peter Weinrauch will face off against challengers Wendie Dillehay and Kim Strnad for their seats on the board. Each candidate is seeking a six-year term on the school board.

Two Flushing Community Schools millage renewals will also be on the general election ballot, including a building and site sinking fund millage extension renewal and an operating millage renewal. If approved, the building and site sinking fund millage renewal would continue to levy .75 mils on all properties (except those exempted by law) in the school district for 10 years. If approved, the operating millage renewal would levy 18 mils on non-homestead properties (industrial and commercial real property and residential rental property) and generate an estimated $2.3 million in its first year.

Below is a listing of polling locations in the City of Flushing and Flushing Township. The polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. — B.G.

Flushing City:

Precinct 1 and Precinct 2 – Bella Birches (formerly VFW Hall), 606 N. McKinley Road.

Precinct 3 – Flushing Fire Station, 723 E. Main Street.

Precinct 4 and Precinct 5 – Flushing United Methodist Church, 413 E. Main Street.

Flushing Township:

Precinct 1 and 5 – North Flushing Baptist Church, 7500 Mt. Morris Road.

Precinct 2 – Flushing Township Hall, 6524 N. Seymour Road.

Precinct 3 – Flushing Church of the Nazarene, 9500 Pierson Road.

Precinct 4 – First Baptist Church of Flushing, 5105 N. McKinley Road.