In brief

Support C-A robotics

FLINT TWP. — Donations are currently being accepted for the Carman-Ainsworth Annual Robotics Yard Sale Fundraiser to be held, Saturday, September 3, Sunday, September 4 & Monday, September 5 from 9 am – 5 pm. All proceeds go to the robotics team. To make a donation, contact Ellen Crain by email at or by cellphone at 810-691-2810. — R.S.

Summer Meals for Kids

FLINT TWP. — Nutritious free meals are available for children and teens 18 and younger at many locations throughout the nation throughout the summer while school is out of session. To find a local site go online to or call 1-866-3-HUNGRY. Local sites include GISD Career Institute, 5081 Torrey Road, Boys and Girls Club – PEAK building, 1261 W. Bristol Road, Baker College, 1050 W. Bristol Rd. and Randels Elementary, 6022 Brobeck. Breakfast, lunch and/or snacks are offered. Serving times vary. — R.S.

Elected officials’ organization opposes proposed courts consolidation

GENESEE COUNTY — The Genesee County Small Cities and Villages Association (SCVA) has issued a statement supporting candidates for Genesee County Commissioner who have signed a pledge to oppose the closing of any of the six out-county courthouses in Burton, Davison, Fenton, Flushing, Grand Blanc and Mt. Morris and also oppose the building of a proposed metroplex to house the courts in Flint, according to a press release.

The SCVA is, a group of elected officials representing the cities of Burton, Clio, Davison, Fenton, Flushing, Grand Blanc, Linden, Montrose, Mt. Morris and Swartz Creek and the villages of Gaines, Goodrich, Otisville and Otter Lake. They voiced concerns about safety and convenience, especially for elderly people in the out-county who would have to travel to Flint to conduct court business.

Candidates for County Commissioner, supported by the SCVA, have signed a pledge to oppose the court consolidation include Ellen Ellenburg (DEM), 3rd district; Anoopa Todd, (DEM), 5th District; Tony Brown (REP), Drew M. Shapiro (REP), and Pete Ponzetti (DEM), all for 6th district; Martin L. Cousineau (DEM), 7th district; Bradley H. Anthony (DEM), Mike Couburn (DEM) and Ted Henry (DEM), all in the 8th district; and David W. Martin (REP) Peggy Adams (DEM) and Brian Norman (DEM) of the 9th district.

SCVA Chairman Gary Peppin said they are asking out-county voters to support the candidates who have pledged to support them in this matter. For more info, contact Peppin at 989-652-5042. — R.S.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *