Christensen Law debuts its New Year’s Eve ‘Safe Ride Home’ program in county
SOUTHFIELD At least one Michigan law firm is doing its part to fight drunk driving in Genesee County with an initiative that includes paying for the cab or Uber fare of people who might otherwise be tempted to drive drunk on New Year’s Eve.
Christensen Law and its founder Dave Christensen is sponsoring “Safe Ride Home” as an opportunity to make a difference on one of the most vulnerable nights of the year when it comes to people getting behind the wheel when they should be taking a cab. The program debuted in Metro Detroit in 2015 with much success. Expanding it to Genesee County was a natural progression of this community initiative, said Christensen.
The Centers for Disease Control, while not specifically calling out New Year’s Eve, does indicate that some 1.9 percent of Michigan drivers report driving after drinking too much in the last 30 days.
Genesee County Sheriff Robert J. Pickell is endorsing the program’s expansion to the county, encouraging anyone who might otherwise get behind the wheel after drinking to take advantage of Christensen Law’s “Safe Ride Home” program.
“Anything I can do to keep our community safe, I’m all in,” said Pickell.
Dave Christensen, a personal injury lawyer who has seen first-hand how devastating a drunk driving incident can be in the lives of families he has served, has made it his mission to do what he can to fight the issue, including his involvement with the Washtenaw Council on Alcoholism, Spectrum Treatment and Prevention Services, and other organizations.
This initiative is part of what motivates him to do even more.
How Safe Ride Home Works
If you’ve had too much to drink on New Year’s Eve, just call a cab or Uber to take you from the bar to your home. Pay for the ride that night and get a receipt. The next day, simply email a copy of your receipt along with a copy of your driver’s license to firstname.lastname@example.org to receive a reimbursement of up to $35.
• Offer is good from 4 p.m. on Dec. 31, 2016, to 4 a.m. on Jan. 1, 2017.
• You must be at least 21 years old.
• Maximum reimbursement is $35, good for a one-way ride to your home.
• Receipts must be received by Christensen Law by midnight, Jan. 6, 2017, to be eligible for reimbursement.
• Ride must be within Genesee, Wayne, Macomb, Oakland and Washtenaw counties.
• Provider of ride must be a licensed taxi company, Uber or Lyft.
• Email a copy of the official taxi company, Uber or Lyft receipt along with a copy of your valid driver’s license to email@example.com OR send those materials via U.S. Mail to Christensen Law Safe Ride Home, 25925 Telegraph Rd., Suite 200, Southfield, MI 48033.
Details: Call 248-213-4900. — G.G.