Flint Township View

Ketzler, Oskey face off in Mundy supervisor race

Dems to narrow the field for the November general election

MUNDY TWP. — Voters in Mundy Township may need a score card to keep track of who’s who this election season.

Supervisor Joe Oskey and Clerk Tonya Ketzler, both Democrats, are vying for the supervisor’s office in the August primary. With no Republic contenders, the winner will be determined in the Aug. 4 primary.

Oskey was appointed to the supervisor’s post in 2018. Before that, he served as township treasurer, having first been elected to that office in 2008. He served as a township trustee from 2004 to 2008.

Ketzler has served three terms as clerk, having first been elected to that office in 2008. She also served as a trustee from 2004 to 2008.

Cory Bostwick, who was appointed treasurer to replace Oskey in 2018, is running for clerk. Trustee Kay M. Doerr had filed for the clerk’s office but withdrew, leaving Bostwick with no competition. Both are Democrats.

Democrat Dennis Owens, who also currently serves as a trustee, is unopposed in the race for treasurer.

In the race for four available trustee positions, five Democrats are vying for the right to advance to the November general election where they face Republican challenger Kyle V. Ward.

Candidates are Greg Dietrich, Mark T. Gorton, Kimberly Jimenez, Dan Morey and Debra Ridley. Incumbent Kay M. Doerr also filed for re-election but withdrew.

Gorton and Morey currently hold trustee positions. Morey has served in that role for four years. Gorton was appointed last October.

Dietrich held public office as a Buena Vista Township trustee from 2008 to 2012.

Trustee Dennis Owens is not seeking re-election. — L.R.