Local boards remain the same

FLINT TWP. — It is now official. With mostly incumbents running unopposed for seats on the local township and school boards, Tuesday’s election was a mere formality.
Carman-Ainsworth school board members Donald J. Conway and Recco S. Richardson, both running unopposed, have been elected to four-year terms.
Conway polled 8,989 votes and Richardson,  7,562 ,plus 215 write-in votes.
School board members are now elected during the November general election in even-numbered years instead of a separate election in May to comply with a new state elections law designed to curb election costs.
Conway and Richardson’s terms technically expired at the end of June but were extended six months. Beginning in 2016, all CA board members will be elected to six-year terms that begin on Jan. 1 following the election.
The seven-member Flint Township Board of Trustees, all Democrats, will include one new member. That is treasurer Marsha Binelli who won the seat in the August primary that is being vacated by retiring long-time treasurer Sandra Wright.
Binelli polled 11,730 (98.53) votes with 175 write-ins.
In other unofficial election totals, Supervisor Karyn Miller received 11,935 (98.44 percent) votes and there were 189 write-ins.
Clerk Kim Courts polled 11,948 (98.35 percent) of votes with 201 write-ins.
Balloting for board trustees was Frank Kasle 10,928 (25.10 percent);  George J. Menoutes 10,773  (24.75 percent);  Belenda Parker 10,843  (24.91 percent) and  Barbara Vert, 10,634 (24.43 percent) votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *