MCC Board of Trustees elects new officers

FLINT — The Mott Community College (MCC) Board of Trustees elected new officers at their Feb. 25 organizational meeting, in addition to swearing in one new and two re-elected board members. The organizational meeting is held every two years for the purpose of swearing in new Trustees, electing officers and assigning committee membership.

Newly elected Board member Andrew Everman, of Flushing, and re-elected Board members Michael Freeman, of Flint, and Matthew Norwood, of Fenton Township, were sworn in by the Honorable Elizabeth Kelly, of the Genesee County Circuit Court. All three were elected to serve six-year terms. Of note is the fact that Judge Kelly, Freeman, and Norwood are all natives of Flushing, and Everman resides in Flushing.

The Board elected Michael Freeman as Chairperson, Anne Figueroa, of Davison, as Vice Chair, Art Reyes, of Grand Blanc Township, as Secretary and Dr. John Snell, of Grand Blanc Township, as Treasurer.

The Board also approved two special resolutions and an honorary degree. Former Board member and Vice Chair Rafael Turner was recognized for his service to the College with both an Honorary associate degree and a Resolution of Appreciation. Turner was first appointed to the Board in 2011 to serve the remainder of his later mother Celia Turner’s term. He served as Vice Chairperson of the Board from 2017- 2018 and was a member of both the Board’s Finance/Audit and Personnel Committees during his tenure, as well as Chair of the Board’s Goals and Objectives ad hoc committee, where he oversaw the development and implementation of evaluations for the College President, Board members, and the Board as an entity.

Dr. John Snell was also honored with a Resolution of Appreciation in recognition for being the longest-serving board member in the history of the College. Dr. Snell marked his 10,778th day of service to the College on Jan. 2 of this year. Dr. Snell was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1989. During his tenure, he has served as Board Treasurer (1991-1995, 2017-present) and Vice Chair (1995-2017). During his final two years as Vice Chair, he assumed the duties of and led the Board as Acting Chair. He currently serves as Chair of the Board’s Finance/Audit Committee and is the Board’s representative to The Foundation for Mott Community College Board of Directors and its Fundraising Committee. He is also the Board’s representative to the American Association of Community Colleges. — G.G.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *