MCC Recognizes Top Achievers for 2020

FLINT — Mott Community College (MCC) honors its outstanding academic achievers for 2020. Top honors awarded by MCC include the Phil Braun Award, the Paul Karr Award, MCC Honors Program Diplomas, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society members and academic division awards.

The Phil Braun Award recipient for 2020 is Brooke Fogg, of Burton. The Phil Braun recognition is given annually to the student who has obtained the most outstanding academic achievement of all graduating students.

Fogg is graduating with an Associate in Arts degree as well as an Associate in General

Studies. She has a 4.0 GPA, is a member of the Honors College, and recently earned the Honors College Diploma and Medallion. She will transfer to the University of Michigan-Flint to pursue a degree in Social Work. Her long-term goal is to complete a Master’s in Social Work (MSW) degree.

The Paul Karr Award recipient for 2020 is Sumer Williams, of Millington. The Paul Karr Award is given each year to the graduate chosen to represent the class as its best citizen on the basis of scholarship, character and service. This honor is noted on the student’s permanent record.

Williams is graduating from the Media Arts and Entertainment Technology Program and will be graduating with an Associate in General Studies. She is a Trustee Scholar and a member of the Honors College. Williams was consistently on the Deans’ List and has a 3.9 GPA.

She will pursue a Mass Communication, BS from Rochester University. Williams won the Dr. Lynne Boyle-John Schimpf Scholarship Award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Michigan Chapter, worth $3,500, to pursue her Media Arts studies.

The Honors College Diploma is awarded to students who have completed a minimum of four honors sections including the Honors Colloquium, have completed all the criteria for an associate’s degree and are graduating with a 3.5 or better GPA. Students who will receive the Honors College Diploma at commencement are:

Cameron Clolinger, of Davison
Kevin Eathorne, of Burton
Joseph Ebert, of Fenton
Brooke Fogg, of Burton
Janelle Gaby, of Burton
Ismael Guerra-Macias, of Flint
Andrew Hatton, of Flint
Emma Hemingway-Hill, of Linden
Victoria Hendricks, of Swartz Creek
Travis Justice, of Flint
Brianna Mann, of Linden
Maiya Mashack, of Flint
Kaylee Meyers, of Flint
Micah Mitchell, of Flint
Samantha Morris, of Swartz Creek
Peyton Nixon, of Swartz Creek
Wyatt Nyswaner, of Clio
Natalie Ovadek, of Davison
Krystal Parks, of Flint
Margaret Popyk, of Grand Blanc
Mikayla Reynolds, of Columbiaville
Micayla Sandlin, of Swartz Creek
Corissa Shafer, of Swartz Creek
Austin Shepp, of Flushing
Brooke Taylor, of Burton
Peyton Tipton, of Flushing
James Viar, of Montrose
Emily Warner, of Grand Blanc
David Watts, of Flint
Caleb Watts, of Flint
Sumer Williams, of Millington

Additionally, College divisions recognize students for academic performance. These awards are given at separate recognition ceremonies within the division or department and include:

The Fine Arts & Social Sciences Division Awards are given annually to students in Fine Arts & Social Sciences disciplines, community members and outstanding faculty. The 2019 awards and recipients are:

• The Meredith Mead Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education is given to Rosemarie Rideout, of Flint.

• The Psychology Award recipient is Jack Kelly, of Clio, and Wyatt Nyswaner, of Clio.

• The Media Arts & Entertainments Outstanding Student Award is given to Isabella L. Hough, of Fenton, and Sumer Williams, of Millington.

• The Outstanding Music Freshman Year Student is Eric “Will” Blake, Jr., of Swartz Creek.

• The Outstanding Music Sophomore Year Student is Caleb D. Robinson, of Flint.

• The Music Technology Award is given to Rolla “R.J.” Etter, of Flint.

• The Criminal Justice Award is given to Dominique Miller, of Burton.

• The Geography Award is given to Jacob Winter, of Swartz Creek.

The Technology Division Awards are given annually to students enrolled in one of the technology-related occupational degree programs at MCC who exhibit outstanding effort and professionalism in their field of study. This year’s recipients are:

• The Outstanding Graduate in CAD and Design recipient is Jamie Bothwell, of Linden.

• The Outstanding Graduate in Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration recipient is Eric Athey, of Otisville.

• The Outstanding Graduate in Computer Information Systems recipient is Jennifer Wagner, of Clio.

• The Outstanding Graduate in Automotive Technology recipient is Robert Bennett, of Burton.

• The Outstanding Graduate in Electronics and Electrical recipient is Chase Borgerson, of Howell.

• The Product Design Challenge Team First Place recipients are: David Alexander, of Davison, Cassidy Graziano, of Swartz Creek, and Dierra Pierce, of Saginaw.

Service Learning Awards:

Rebekah Harmon, of Flushing, earned the Outstanding Community Impact award from the MCC Experiential Learning Office. The award is given to students who make service an integral part of their college experience, demonstrate significant contributions to community, encourage others to participate in service, and has make efforts to build partnerships between their campus and communities.

Melissa Ruboyianes, of Flushing, is the recipient of the Commitment to Service Student Award for outstanding contributions to service, encouraging others to participate in service and supporting community partnerships. — G.G.