MCC student leadership society inducts 50

FLINT – The Mott Community College (MCC) chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (Sigma Alpha Pi), inducted 50 new members for the Fall Semester, and awarded three National Engaged Leaders recognitions and three Excellence in Teaching awards, Dec. 9.

The ceremony was the culmination of a years’ worth of work. Sigma Alpha Pi is for students with a 2.7GPA or higher, have completed 9 credits, and are enrolled for the Fall or Winter Semester at MCC. Membership requirements include completion of: an orientation, a leadership training day, three speaker broadcasts, and three Success Networking Team meetings.

Additionally, three members completed the requirements to receive the National Engaged Leader Award (NELA), which constitutes competing three additional speaker broadcasts, three additional Success Networking Team meetings, and five hours of community service.

The group also recognized three faculty and one staff member with awards:

Dianne McClure was given Honorary Membership in Sigma Alpha Pi because of her support of the group and facilitation of meetings and events.

Amanda LeMaster, Psychology faculty, was presented with an Excellence in Teaching Award for creating a welcoming learning environment and her desire for her students to succeed. “She makes Psychology class enjoyable and makes time to talk to students outside of class and office hours. It is clear that she believes in the students of Mott Community College,” said Dawn Vanniman, Director of Student Life and advisor for the Sigma Alpha Pi.

Joshua Sauvie, English faculty, was also presented with an Excellence in Teaching Award for consistently making himself available to students in and out of class, and giving thoughtful input. “He makes lectures interesting and engaging, takes students seriously and values their input. He is always happy to discuss career options and transferring to universities,” said Vanniman.

Dr. Jjenna Andrews, Fine Arts faculty, was presented with the third Excellence in Teaching Award for creating a warm teaching environment. “She gently guides students and allows their creativity to flow. Dr. Andrews provides an excellent role model for any student in the art field. It’s wonderful to see her work on campus creating conversation,” Vanniman said.

One Chapter Award was presented:

Jake Duffiney was awarded a gift card and a Sigma Alpha Pi messenger bag for his work on a Book Drive. Jake came to the Chapter Advisor in April 2017 after talking to his favorite high school teacher about the lack of a school library. He requested the MCC Sigma Alpha Pi Chapter host a book drive to create a classroom library. He involved the Chapter in putting up donation boxes in Student Life, the MCC Library and MCC Math Empowerment Center; he also involved the Burton area Gordon Food Service store. By May, a total of 2,000 books had been collected and sorted. Book collection continued through the end of August, and cataloging and sorting is ongoing, according to Vanniman.


Bianca Aguirre – Swartz Creek, Elijah Allen – Flint, Pamela Anderson – Flushing, Darrin Arbor – Flint, Grant Barrera – Flint, Lydia Baudoux – Grand Blanc, Divinewill Benson – Grand Blanc, Ashley Boasten – Saginaw, Michael Burke II – Flint, Ashley Cantley – Fenton.

Shelby Dimick – Clio, Cyndi Edwards – Mount Morris, Jacqueline Gallant – Fenton, Jose De Jesus Gomez Macias – Rochester, Lauren Gould – Burton, Tiffini Gray – Columbiaville, Angel Grondin – Flint, Alexis Hanson – Goodrich, Briana Hartwig – Metamora, Santiago Hernandez – Grand Blanc.

Michael Herzog – Grand Blanc, Gwendolyn Hopkins – Millington, Jenna Horton – Mount Morris, Hailey Jennings – Clio, Hannah Kaminski – Grand Blanc, Cameron Kelley – Grand Blanc, Janine Keyes – Attica, Brian Krupp – Montrose, Karina Lewis – Flint, Cameron Lomax – Grand Blanc, Celeste Madsen – Burton, Sharita Maltbia – Flint.

Rachel Meyer – Goodrich, Kelli Moore – Flint, Sylvia Moore – Flint, Dustin Mosure – Columbiaville, Alicia Neilsen – Otisville, Katherine Palmer – Grand Blanc, Christy Patten – Columbiaville.

Makenzie Payne – Grand Blanc, James Quasarano – Linden, Sarah Ricksgers – Lapeer, Dominique Ricotta – North Branch, Jonathon Ross – Flushing, Kayla Schilling – Fenton, Coner Segren – Flint, Asherah Shepherd – Flint, Melvin Strickland – Flint, Allisha Szcodronski – Fenton, Thomas Thornton – Grand Blanc.

There were three NELA (National Engaged Leader Awards), Elizabeth Draeger – Linden, Jacob Duffiney – Burton, Melissa Ruboyianes – Flushing,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *