Mid-Michigan High school hockey alumni tourney a success once again

The Carman-Ainsworth 40+ team goes on the attack against Davison on Friday at Crystal Fieldhouse.

The Carman-Ainsworth 40+ team goes on the attack against Davison on Friday at Crystal Fieldhouse.

LAPEER – For the eighth consecutive year, the annual Mid-Michigan High School Alumni Hockey Tournament returned to the ice Friday- Sunday, splitting games between Lapeer’s Polar Palace and Burton’s Crystal Fieldhouse. The event benefited the Old Newsboys of Flint, Flint Inner City Youth Hockey, GFHA Ice Raiders, Eastern Michigan Hockey Association and Lapeer County Hockey Association, and even had a ceremonial puck drop on Saturday night to honored the late father of former Swartz Creek player Billy Germain, who later transferred to Flint Powers during his high school days. He played for the Powers 40+ team that faced Swartz Creek 40+ Saturday evening.

Teams were asked to bring five back packs and five hooded sweatshirts as part of the tournament’s charitable donations.

Grand Blanc was the 40-and-up division title, while Flint Powers Catholic was the winner of both the 30-and-up and 18-and-up division.



The 18-and-up division consisted of Clio, Davison, Durand, Fenton, Goodrich, Grand Blanc, Lapeer East, Lapeer West, Linden, Flint Powers and Swartz Creek.

In the 30-and-up bracket was Carman- Ainsworth, Clio, Davison, Fenton, Flint Southwestern, Flushing, Goodrich, Grand Blanc, Kearsley, Lapeer East, Lapeer West, Mt. Morris, Flint Powers and Swartz Creek.

As for the 40-and-up tournament, it included Bentley, Carman-Ainsworth, Clio, Flint Central, Flint Northern, Grand Blanc, Kearsley, Lapeer West, Flint Powers and Swartz Creek.

Carman-Ainsworth’s teams included:

Carman-Ainsworth 30-over: Ryan Craven, Justin McCarty, Nick Pounds, Nick Schoenfield, Josh Metz, Ben Holloway, Mike Revoir, Kyle Perkins, Robert Kelly, Chris Crockett, Josh Clements, Kyle Primm.

Carman-Ainsworth 40-over: Chris Eiker, Kevin Byrne, Chad Borg, Brian Curtis, Jeph Wright, Brad Kippe, Conor Byrne, Dan Whitten, Mike Boyd, Dave Barbour, Dave Hayes, Rod Kippe, Jeff Whitten, Marc Lubiato, Bruce Landeen, Nate Clemons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *