MTA millage replacement passes by wide margin

GENESEE COUNTY — Voters in Genesee County have approved a millage replacement for the Mass Transportation Authority (MTA).

At press time, the millage replacement had passed by a wide margin, with 57,517 to 31,049 votes.

The new MTA millage, which has been set at 1.225 mills, will be replacing previous millages of .0.425 mills and 0.40 mills that were approved by voters on Aug. 7, 2018, and Nov. 4, 2014, respectively.

Altogether, the 1.225 mills will be collected for a period of five years from 2020-2024, providing mass transportation services including Your Ride and other related services for the elderly, persons with disabilities, the disadvantaged and other members of the public throughout Genesee County.

According to the MTA, the replacement levy will raise $11,885,622 in its first year. Previously approved millages will no longer be levied.

Local authorities will also continue to capture portion of the tax increment revenue collected from taxpayers within their district boundaries and receive a disbursement from this millage renewal, including the City of Burton Downtown Development Authority (“DDA”); City of Clio DDA and Neighborhood Improvement Authority (“NIA”); City of Davison DDA and Local Development Finance Authority (“LDFA”); City of Fenton DDA and LDFA; City of Flint DDA; East Pierson Road Corridor Improvement Authority (“CIA”); City of Grand Blanc DDA and Brownfield Redevelopment Authority (“BRA”); Charter Township of Grand Blanc DDA; City of Linden DDA; City of Montrose DDA; City of Mt. Morris DDA; Mt. Morris Township Business Development Authority (“BDA”); City of Swartz Creek DDA; Genesee County BRA and Land Bank Authority; Davison Township DDA; Flint Township DDA; Beecher Road CIA; Bristol Road CIA; Hill Road CIA; Vienna Township BDA; Village of Lennon DDA; Village of Otisville DDA and Village of Otter Lake DDA. — B.G.