Nominees announced for Art of Achievement Awards

GENESEE COUNTY — Several Flint Township businesses and individuals are among nominees to be recognized by the Flint & Genesee Chamber of Commerce at the second annual Art of Achievement Awards. The presentation gala begins with registration at 5:15 p.m. Nov. 12 at the Riverfront Banquet Center in downtown Flint.

“The Art of Achievement celebrates some of the accomplishments that are helping move Flint & Genesee forward, in ways large and small,” said Chamber CEO Tim Herman. “We’ve had a tremendous response to the call for nominations – nearly double the number received last year in some categories.

“We’re excited that the selection committee has such a tough job ahead in picking the winners.”

The following individuals and companies are nominees in the business category:

CEO Business Award – Any company with 50 or more employees.

•C&L Ward


•Genesee Intermediate School District

•Grand Blanc Motorcars, LTD.

Small Business Award – Any company with less than 50 employees.

•Artistic Visions Enterprise

•I.N.C. Systems

•The Local Grocer

•Martin Funeral Cremation/Tribute Services

•Park Place Hair Studio (4236 Miller Rd., Flint Twp.)

•Peerless Mattress (4215 Miller Rd, Flint Township)

•Professional Nursing Services, Inc. (2425 Linden Rd, Flint Twp.)

•Pro Med Ambulance

•Rollhaven Skating Center

•Special Occasions East

•The Yoga Loft

Minority Owned Business Award – Any minority-owned business in the community.

•Artistic Visions Enterprise

•Daughter of the King Royaltee

•Park Place Hair Studio

Professional Nursing Services, Inc.

Universal EMS

Nonprofit Impact Award – Any charity, church or nonprofit making great strides to positively impact any facet of the Flint and Genesee community.

•Genesee Health Plan (2171 Linden Road, Flint Twp.)

•Faith Lutheran Church

•Mott Community College Women in Education

•Dreams Do Come True

•Food Bank of Eastern Michigan
•Local Initiatives Support Corporation
•Communities First, Inc.

Young Professional Leader Award – Any young professional 35 or younger making great strides to benefit their company and/ or the community.

•Jennifer Beamer, American Cancer Society

•Steven Elkins, Digital Medics

•Ja’Nel Jamerson, MCC Workforce Education Center

•DeWaun E. Robinson, Artistic Visions Enterprise

•Jennifer Wenzlick, Ground Floor Market

•Glenn Wilson, Communities First, Inc.

Claire M. White Award – Honoring a woman working for the betterment of Flint & Genesee in community, career or someone else’s life.

•Waneita Bovan, June’s Floral Company

•Sally Shaheen Joseph, MCC Bd. of Trustees

•Jessyca Mathews, Carman-Ainsworth Community Schools (Flint Twp.)

•Jill Nylander, Legal Services of Eastern Mich.

•Gay Polley, Dover & Company

•Tammy Wade, Mt. Morris Community Schools

•Marsay Wells-Strozier, Center for Higher Educational Achievement

Small Business Contractor of the Year – Honoring a company that has excelled in past year with the aid of PTAC services and counseling.

•ATI Group, Inc.

•American Electric Motors

•D M Burr Facilities Management (4252 Holiday Drive, Flint Twp.)

•Electra-Med Corporation

•Rowe Professional Services

The following companies and individuals are nominees in the hospitality category:

Hotel of the Year – This award recognizes a Genesee County hotel for its outstanding service, comfort and attention to hotel guests, providing an excellent overall experience.

•Comfort Inn – Grand Blanc


•Fairfield Inn & Suites

•Residence Inn

•Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Grand Blanc

•Holiday Inn Gateway Centre

•Knob Hill Bed & Breakfast

•Motel 6 (2324 Austin Parkway, Flint Twp.)

•Wingate by Wyndham

Restaurant of the Year
•Applewood Café
•Halo Burger
•Lucky Steakhouse
•Starlite Coney Island

Frontline Ambassador Award – This award recognizes a hospitality worker – front desk staff, host/hostess, housekeeper, guest services and maintenance – in a Genesee County hotel who provides outstanding service to guests staying at their establishment. There are too many nominees to list individually, representing 12 businesses.

In addition, the Chamber will present several special honors, including the Gloria J. DeHart Award, Hospitality Ambassador Award and Community Champion Award.

Tickets are $75 and can be purchased online at events/2015-art-achievement-awards/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *