Owosso set to join Flint Metro League

FLINT – The Flint Metro League principals voted Owosso into the league as its ninth member on Oct. 2. Owosso joins the Metro League effective with the 2017-18 school year. The vote was unanimous and Owosso, currently a member of the Capital Area Activities Conference, saw its Board of Education approve the move out of the CAAC on Oct. 24 on a 7-0 vote.

The Metro League said in a press release that two key components of the application process included a subcommittee of principals and athletic directors from the Metro League visiting Owosso and Owosso then identified a team of key stakeholders to participate in a screening interview held by designated principals and athletic directors from the Flint Metro League.

“Moving to the Flint Metro League provides a number of positives for the Trojans, primary of which is the opportunity to be a part of longtime traditions in established communities,” said Owosso athletic director Dallas Lintner. “Owosso has been entrenched in the Flint area for generations and we’re excited to rekindle old traditions with old friends. A key reason for Owosso’s move to the Flint Metro League is our similarities in academic excellence and community involvement, along with fielding competitive sports teams.”

“All Flint Metro League principals and athletic directors have agreed Owosso is a fantastic fit for the league,” said Jamie Johnston, Flint Metro League president and Swartz Creek native. “In addition to competing in athletics, Flint Metro League schools get together for other activities, such as Student Council meetings and Quiz Bowl challenges.”

Current Flint Metro League schools include Brandon, Holly, Swartz Creek, Fenton, Linden, Kearsley, Clio and Flushing, which joined the Metro League in 2013. The Flint Metro League schools can be followed at www.flintmetroleaguesports.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *