Powers student selected Genesee DAR Good Citizen

GENESEE COUNTY — Each year the Genesee Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution encourages area high schools to participate in the selection of a senior student to serve as their DAR Good Citizen.

Twenty-four of the 30 schools in the Genesee region (including all of Genesee County and part of Shiawassee) provided DAR with the names of their Good Citizen designees in late November.

All of these students and their guests were honored March 12, 2011 at a Good Citizen program and reception at Court Street United Methodist Church in Flint.

Fifteen students of those 24 also elected to participate in the application process for a $200 scholarship from the Genesee DAR Chapter.

In December, Adrienne Andrus, a student at Powers Catholic High School who resides in Flint, was selected to be the DAR scholarship winner.

Her name and materials were subsequently sent to the Michigan DAR level for consideration of an additional scholarship award.

In mid-February the Genesee DAR was notified Adrienne placed among the Top 10 in the Michigan Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizens Scholarship Contest.

There are 54 DAR chapters in Michigan.

Adrienne received her award and another scholarship check April 5 at a Michigan DAR Awards Day luncheon at the Kellogg Center on the campus of Michigan State University.

This is the second year in a row that the Genesee Chapter has had a Good Citizen scholarship winner selected for the Top 10 in the State.

The Genesee Chapter’s Good Citizens and and their respective schools are:

 Alexis Orr, Atherton High School

 Kaitlyn Parks, Bendle High School

 Kimberly Hewitt, Bentley High School

 Erick Skaff, Carman-Ainsworth High School

 Jacob Calcutt, Clio High School

 Lauren Grzibowski, Corunna High School

 Jessica Opila, Davison High School

 Jennifer DeClerg, Durand High School

 Jessica Fill, Faithway Christian High School

 Montrice Walker-Sanders, Flint Northern High School

 Rhonda Clarke, Flint Southwestern Academy

 Kathryn Stringer, Flushing High School

 Brooke Stanton, Genesee High School

 Gabriel Lemon, Genesee Christian High School

 Victoria Jones, Goodrich High School

 Mackenzie Stratton, Grand Blanc High School’

 Brianna Peczynski, Hill-McCloy High School

 Darold Hogan, International Academy of Flint

 Christopher Forystek, E.A. Johnson High School

 Andrew Koprowski, Kearsley High School

 Alaina Krupp, New Lothrop High School

 Adrienne Andrus, Powers Catholic High School

 Megan Bush, Swartz Creek High School

 Hayley Smith, The Valley School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *