Flint Township View

Primary races for county commission show range of candidates

GENESEE COUNTY — When voters cast their ballots in the Aug. 4 primary election, several Genesee County Board of Commissioners seats will be decided, with candidates moving on from the primary to the general election in November.

District 8 — Gaines Township, Clayton Township, Swartz Creek, Mount Morris Township, Flint Township and the villages of Gaines and Lennon

In the race for the 8th District county commission seat, incumbent Ted Henry faces challenger Debra Newman in the Democratic primary. The top vote-getter will face off against Republican Rod Shumaker in the November general election.

District 9 – Davison, Davison Township, Richfield Township, Forest Township, Genesee Township, Otisville

Gary Peppin, a former Davison City Councilman, and Ann Edwards, both of Davison, will vie for the Democratic spot on the Nov. 3 ballot for the 9th District County Commission seat being vacated by David Martin.

The highest voter-getter in the Aug. 4 primary will go on to face Republican Matthew Smith for the county commissioner seat. Smith is unopposed I the primary. — G.G.