Primary sets up township races for Nov. 3 election

DAVISON AREA — Voters will go to the polls Aug. 4 to pick candidates who will go on to the general election in November for local races in Davison and Richfield townships.

Here are the races to be decided in the primary election:

Davison Township Board of Trustees

For the position of clerk, Democrats Bobby Bingley and Noble Hart III squared off in the Aug. 4 primary and received 1,112-1,142 votes respectively. Hart will go on to the Nov. 3 election where he will face Republican Mary Miller, who received 903 votes compared to Travis Howell with 892 votes.

In the race for trustee, there are two open seats on the board.

Two Democrats, Mo Aboneaaj and Dave Humphrey, will be on the November ballot. In the primary, Aboneaaj received 1,565 votes and Humphrey received 1,840.

Republican candidates Matthew Karr (incumbent), attorney Lori Tallman and Bentley schools administrator Scott Bednarski received 1,226-1,163-668 respectively. Karr and Tallman will face Aboneaaj and Humphrey in the Nov. 3 election.

There wasn’t a primary race for the supervisor or treasurer positions in Davison Township, so incumbent Supervisor Tim Elkins (D) will face challenger Jim Slezak (R) in the November election

For treasurer, incumbent Patrick Miller (D) will face opposition by Republican Tim Green.

Richfield Township Board of Trustees

Incumbent Supervisor Joseph Madore defeated challenger Adam Thrash in the Aug. 4 primary by a vote of 951-339. Madore will face Republican Tim Candela for a 4-year term as supervisor in the November general election.

Democratic voters picked accountant Kimberly Dowrie who ran against Bill Brandon, former Davison Police Chief, for treasurer. She received 696 votes to Brandon’s 565. She will face Republican Matt Morris in the November election.

There wasn’t a primary race in Richfield Township for the two trustee positions, but there will be a race in November between incumbent Democrats Gerald Masters and Keith Pyles and Republican challengers Sherry Marden and Scott Natzke.

For the primary, Masters name was left off the ballot because he filed his paperwork improperly, so he conducted a write-in campaign. The results of his effort were not known at press time.

Results listed here were not finalized at press time. Updated results from the Tuesday, Aug. 4 Primary Election will be posted online at As results are posted, an e-newsletter will also be sent to e-newsletter subscribers. An e-newsletter subscription is free. Sign up at davisonindex.