Township precincts undergo ‘dramatic’ changes

FLINT TWP. — The township’s 24,677 registered voters can expect some changes at the polls next year, as a result of redrawn precinct boundary lines.

At its Monday night meeting, the township board unanimously approved a resolution adopting precinct boundary changes to go with reapportioned County Commissioner District Boundary lines, effective in the August 2012 election. “ The changes are dramatic,’’ said Kim Courts, township clerk, while illustrating the differences between the township’s old and new precinct boundary maps.

Precincts 10, 13, 14 and 15 have the same number of voters but there are now fewer voters in precincts 1, 2, 5 and 8 and more voters in precincts 3, 4, 6, 7. 9, 11 and 12.

Precincts 16- 20 have been eliminated, reducing the township’s total number of precincts to 15.

As a result, the polling site at Fire Station Number Two on Flushing Road will be eliminated. Voters in precincts 5 and 7 will now vote at Stalker School, 3329 Burnell, directly behind the fire station. Precincts 8 and 9 will continue to vote at Stalker.

Precinct 5 becomes part of the 8th county district under Commissioner Ted Henry; Precinct 8 is part of the 4th district under Commissioner John Northrup and Precincts 7 and 9 part of the 2nd district under Commissioner Brenda Clack. Those precincts are in the Carman-Ainsworth and Flushing schools districts which also will be operating under new election rules for the November ballot.

Precincts 1 and 2 will vote at the Flint Township Hall, 1490 S. Dye Road, which is part of Henry’s 8th district and the Carman Ainsworth School district.

Precincts 3, 4 and 10 will vote at Fire Station 1, 5331 Reuben Street, as part of Northrup’s 4th district and including the Carman Ainsworth and Swartz Creek school districts.

Precincts 6 and 11 vote at the Senior Center, 2071 S. Graham Road, and are part of Northrup’s 4th district including parts of the Carman Ainsworth and Swartz Creek school districts.

Precinct 12 will vote at Fire Station No. 3, 2511 Bristol Road, and is part of Northrup’s 4th district and the Swartz Creek School district.

Precincts 13, 14 and 15 will vote at Fenton Lawn School, 1181 Scotwood as part of Northrup’s 4th district and Carman Ainsworth Schools.

Courts said that after implementation costs that include redrawing maps and notifying residents of the redistricting, the overall changes will cost township less in the long run.

Redistricting is based on 2010 Census results and requires redrawing districts for county and municipal elected representatives, based on population changes, to make them proportional.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *